MatMed

Laboratory for Materials in Medicine Pan Research Group at Illinois
Bioengineering at Illinois Engineering for Life University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

People

Principal Investigator

Professor Dipanjan Pan, PhD, FRSC, FAHA, FACC

Photograph Dr. Pan headshot
Email dipanjan@nospam5a1495fff149f.illinois.edu
Office Associate Professor
Director, Masters in Engineering Program in Bioengineering

Department of Bioengineering
Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology
Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Faculty, Carle Illinois College of Medicine
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

 Prof. Dipanjan Pan, MS, PhD, is an expert in nanomedicine, molecular imaging and drug delivery. He is presently a tenured Associate Professor in Bioengineering and Materials Science and Engineering and Institute of Sustainability in Energy and Environment in University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. He also holds a full faculty position with Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology, University of Illinois Cancer Center and recently joined newly started Carle-Illinois College of Medicine. He Administratively directs the Professional Masters in Engineering Program in Bioengineering within the College of Engineering. He is also a course director for the newly founded engineering inspired Carle-Illinois school of medicine. Prior to coming to Illinois, he was a faculty in Washington University School of Medicine, St Louis. Prof Pan’s lab uniquely merges fundamental chemistry, biology and engineering to bring solution to today’s healthcare problems. His research is highly collaborative and interdisciplinary centering on the development of novel materials for biomedical applications, immune-nanomedicine and targeted therapies for stem-like cancer cell with phenotypically screened nanomedicine platforms. Over the years, this research has resulted in more than 100 high impact peer reviewed publications in scientific journals, numerous conference abstracts and has been supported by external funding from NIH, NSF, DoD, American Heart Association and other private/foundational funding sources. Prof. Pan edited and co-written two books published from Taylor and Francois (Nanomedicine: A Soft Matter Perspective, ISBN-13: 978-1466572829) and Springer (Personalized Medicine with a Nanochemistry Twist: Nanomedicine (Topics in Medicinal Chemistry, ISBN-13: 978-3319335445). He holds multiple patents (8 granted US patents), several ongoing clinical trials and is the founder of three University based early start-ups. He is the CEO/President for a biotechnology start-up Vitruvian Biotech dedicated to develop novel image guided therapies. He also co-founded InnSight Technologies dedicated to nanotechnology based application for ocular diseases. His other company Kalocyte, which he cofounded with his clinical collaborators, develops artificial oxygen career. His technology has been licensed for commercial development multiple times. He serves as study section review board member for NIH, CDMRP (DoD), NSF and multiple review committee member for American Heart Association. In 2016 he received Nanomaterials Letter (NML) Researcher award and most recently in 2017 an Young Innovator Award from Biomedical Engineering Society (BMES). He is an elected fellow of Royal Society of Chemistry, a Fellow of American Heart Association and an elected fellow of American College of Cardiology. Professor Pan is an editorial board member of Scientific Reports (Nature Publishing) and an editorial advisory board member of Molecular Pharmaceutics (ACS). 

Research Scientist

Dr. Santosh Misra

Photograph Santosh Misra
Email skmisra@nospam5a1495fff2707.illinois.edu
Department Indian Institute of Science (IISc), India
Title PhD

Postdoctoral Associates

Dr. Muhammad Shuja Khan

Photograph
Email mskhan7@nospam5a1495fff3d33.illinois.edu
Department Bioengineering

Dr. Dinabandhu Sar

Photograph
Title PhD

Visiting Scholar

Ketan Dighe
Photograph
Email kdighe2@nospam5a149600013a6.illinois.edu
Department Bioengineering
Title M.Eng
Zhaolu Huang
Photograph
Email zhaolu@nospam5a14960001c0b.illinois.edu
Department Visiting Scholar
Title Graduate Student
Dr. Indu Tripathi
Photograph
Email indutrip@nospam5a14960002911.illinois.edu
Title Ph.D.

Graduate Students

Enrique A. Daza

Photograph
Email daza2@nospam5a14960004280.illinois.edu
Department Bioengineering, MBA
Title M.S.

Parinaz Fathi

Photograph
Email pfathi2@nospam5a149600049b6.illinois.edu
Department Bioengineering

Taylor Kampert

Photograph
Email kampert2@nospam5a149600050a2.illinois.edu
Department Bioengineering

Fatemeh (Youkabed) Ostadhossein

Photograph
Email ostadho2@nospam5a149600057e8.illinois.edu
Department Bioengineering
Title M.S.

Rushi Patel

Photograph
Email rspatel6@nospam5a14960005f22.illinois.edu
Department Bioengineering

Aaron Schwartz-Duval

Photograph
Email asschwa2@nospam5a1496000662d.illinois.edu
Department Bioengineering

Indrajit Srivastava

Photograph
Email indrajit@nospam5a14960006cce.illinois.edu
Department Bioengineering
Title M.S.

Zhen Wang

Photograph
Email zhenw2@nospam5a14960007401.illinois.edu
Department Bioengineering

Undergraduate Students

Lily Benig

Photograph
Email benig2@nospam5a14960008a76.illinois.edu
Department Bioengineering

Shannon D’Souza

Photograph
Email sdsouza3@nospam5a14960009139.illinois.edu
Department Bioengineering

Valery Kravchuk

Photograph
Email valery.k21@nospam5a1496000981e.gmail.com
Department Bioengineering

Lauren Grove

Photograph
Email lmgrove2@nospam5a14960009ee8.illinois.edu
Department Bioengineering

Morgan Scholtes

Photograph
Email mss2@nospam5a1496000a5fa.illinois.edu

Hiba Shahid

Photograph
Email hzshahi2@nospam5a1496000aca6.illinois.edu
Department Bioengineering and Electrical Engineering

Jasleena Singh

Photograph
Department Bioengineering

Rachele Wen

Photograph
Email rwen6@nospam5a1496000b9a1.illinois.edu
Department Bioengineering

Alexander Yow

Photograph
Email ayow2@nospam5a1496000c27d.illinois.edu
Department Chemistry

Lab Alumni

Dr. Faiza Khawar

Photograph
Email faiza@nospam5a1496000e217.illinois.edu
Title M.D.

Dr. Guru Raja Vulugundam

Photograph
Email gururaj@nospam5a1496000efbe.illinois.edu
Department Bioengineering
Title PhD

Postdoctoral Associate

Dr. Manas Gartia
Photograph Manas Gartia
Email gartia1@nospam5a14960010b39.illinois.edu
Department University of Illinois at Urbana- Champaign
Title PhD
Mao Ye
Photograph Mao Ye
Email yemaochina@nospam5a14960011275.gmail.com
Department University of Regensburg, Germany
Title PhD

Graduate Students

Huei-Huei Chang
Photograph
Email hchang51@nospam5a149600125ec.illinois.edu
Department Chemistry

Undergraduate Students

Ramya Babu
Photograph
Email rsbabu2@nospam5a14960014082.illinois.edu
Department Bioengineering, Computer Science
Jordan Behn
Photograph Jordan Behn
Email behn2@nospam5a14960014739.illinois.edu
Department Bioengineering
Haley Brown
Photograph Haley Brown
Email hebrown3@nospam5a14960014e2a.illinois.edu
Department Bioengineering
Christine Promisel
Photograph
Email promise2@nospam5a14960015530.illinois.edu
Department Bioengineering
Adriana Carola Salazar Coariti
Photograph
Email slzrcrt2@nospam5a14960015f8a.illinois.edu
Department Mechanical Engineering
Rebecca Ficht
Photograph Rebecca Ficht
Email ficht2@nospam5a149600169ee.illinois.edu
Department Bioengineering
Andrew Graham
Photograph Andrew Graham
Email graham33@nospam5a149600170a4.illinois.edu
Department Bioengineering
CJ Hunter
Photograph
Email cjhunte2@nospam5a1496001788d.illinois.edu
Department bioengineering
Molly Imgruet
Photograph
Email imgruet2@nospam5a149600185b9.illinois.edu
Department Bioengineering
Elise Kahn
Photograph
Email evkahn2@nospam5a14960019462.illinois.edu
Department Molecular & Cellular Biology
Nicholas Kolmodin
Photograph Nicholas Kolmodin
Email kolmodi2@nospam5a14960019d25.illinois.edu
Department Chemical Engineering
Joseph Kus
Photograph Joseph Kus
Email jkus2@nospam5a1496001a95c.illinois.edu
Department Bioengineering
Nikhil Malkani
Photograph Nikil Malkani
Email malkani2@nospam5a1496001afe0.illinois.edu
Department Bioengineering
Neal Mistry
Photograph
Email nmistr2@nospam5a1496001b74e.illinois.edu
Department Bioengineering
Ayako Ohoka
Photograph
Email ohoka2@nospam5a1496001be74.illinois.edu
Department Bioengineering
Zach Saldivar
Photograph
Email saldivr2@nospam5a1496001c56b.illinois.edu
Department Bioengineering
Sreyesh Satpathy
Photograph
Email satpath2@nospam5a1496001cc4b.illinois.edu
Department Bioengineering
Maximillian Schaettler
Photograph Maximilian Schaettler
Email schaett2@nospam5a1496001d2fc.illinois.edu
Department Physics, Chemistry
Divya Tankasala
Photograph Divya Tankasala
Email tankasa2@nospam5a1496001d97d.illinois.edu
Department Bioengineering
Kimberly Volkman
Photograph
Email kvolkma2@nospam5a1496001e037.illinois.edu
Department Bioengineering

High School Students

Callie Miller
Photograph
Shivani Senguttuvan
Photograph
Abhi Sharma
Photograph
Email asharma@nospam5a1496001ffda.imsa.edu
Department Illinois Math and Science Academy